Fletcher Prince 2008 annual report

cup cakeAs I was pondering my new year’s resolutions for 2009, I located a copy of the resolutions I wrote exactly one year ago.  I made an extensive list of what I had hoped to acheive for 2008.  I am happy to say I achieved nearly all of my goals (except for losing weight!).  But what really astounded me was realizing all that has happened in 2008  — all the things that I couldn’t begin to foresee on that evening of December 31, 2007.

I suppose when you are in the thick of things, you may not appreciate just how far you have come.  And, I don’t typically think of myself as someone who is a big achiever kind of person. But this year, I really feel kind of proud of myself.  For me, 2008 was an amazing year.  Only that pride is tempered with humility, because none of this would have been possible without the tremendous vision, support, and hard work of my wonderful business partner, David Hyson.  So much of what I achieved happened with the assistance of Fletcher Prince’s terrific interns (now staff) and all the fantastic friends I have met this year.  And even my ten-year-old son with autism, who in his way, helps when he keeps me company at his desk in my home office, and who just tries so hard every day and is so good natured about it, that he is an inspiration to me.
So, just to recap 2008 (whew! are you ready for this?)

Last year on this date, I resolved to join a professional organization and network with professionals in my field. Gulp! In one year,

  • I joined five professional organizations
  • Served on board committees of three organizations
  • Helped plan an awards event attended by 225 people

Last year on this date, I resolved to get business cards and hoped to obtain some freelance work.  I took that goal a little bit farther, too. This year, I

  • Incorporated Fletcher Prince as an LLC
  • Was featured twice in The Washington Business Journal
  • Launched a company website and YouTube video series
  • Was featured as PRSA-NCC member of the month
  • Published an email monthly newsletter, which now has more than 100 subscribers, and wrote blog posts no less than three times a week for our blog
  • Became a corporate sponsor
  • Gave four presentations on email marketing, social media, and blogging
  • Scored four paying clients (websites, email marketing, and advertising projects)
  • Serviced two pro bono clients
  • Hired six interns, who now work for me as staff and contractors
  • Held a summer company open house and a holiday company open house

Wow! And on top of that, I took ballroom dancing and ice skating lessons. )
A year ago, I was dreaming about this stuff and going to workshops, not even imagining I would one day really have my own business.  This year, I was doing it.  It has all been so exciting and slightly overwhelming.  So I will still continue to work on my professional goals, as well as my personal ones, which include looking through a telescope at stars (can you believe I never have?).

Here’s to star-gazing, dreams come true, and an amazing 2009!

About Mary Fletcher Jones

Mary Fletcher Jones is a public relations and marketing consultant, and owns Fletcher Prince (www.FletcherPrince.com). Follow Mary on Twitter @FletcherPrince.

Posted on December 31, 2008, in Annual Reports, Fletcher Prince News, Professional Involvement. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments?

