Image is everything (Tribulations of Headshot Photography)

I was recently asked to speak at a conference and I have to submit a head shot. (I am so excited about that by the way, but that is another post.) I have headshots, of course, but they are all old (and sadly, many pounds ago).  And I have kabillions of photos of myself, but not one that I really felt said: take this woman extremely seriously; she knows what she’s talking about.

Fortunately, David is a professional photographer.  At times like this, I feel very lucky to have David as a business partner.  Who am I kidding?  I feel lucky EVERY DAY to have David as a business partner!  You will not meet a nicer guy.

So, David agrees; he will take my photo.  I say, can we also take some photos of each other?  Where we look, you know, professional?  Because I have been working on that.  We have lots of fun photos but very few photos of ourselves as a team.  I wanted to take some of him, too, because I have never used a DSLR.

Well, I learned a lot about photography yesterday.  First of all, taking a really good photo of someone is not as easy as it looks.  David makes it look easy, but it is not easy at all.  I discovered this when I tried to take David’s photo.  Those DSLR cameras are HEAVY!  And they are not foolproof.  They take real know-how.  I took all kinds of overexposed shots until he showed me a few tricks.

Of course, David’s shots of me were more successful, and that is really saying something.  I am not super-easy to photograph.  One eyelid always wants to do something the other eyelid is not on board with.  I blink.  And, I have a jack o’lantern smile that enchants babies but looking like a middle-aged Muppet in a head-shot is, perhaps, not a very corporate look.  So I have to really work at being (or at least looking) serious.  We put on some Mazzy Starr and that tamped down my natural-born frivolity a bit.

Then came the challenge of taking our photo together.  As I said, I have a head like a pumpkin.  Alice in Wonderland’s Queen of Hearts?  We were separated at birth.  So I had to stand a bit behind David because in the shots where I was in the foreground, my head looked MASSIVE 🙂

But I knew that going into it, so we quickly adjusted and came out with some good shots.  So here are some of the photographs!

About Mary Fletcher Jones

Mary Fletcher Jones is a public relations and marketing consultant, and owns Fletcher Prince (www.FletcherPrince.com). Follow Mary on Twitter @FletcherPrince.

Posted on August 27, 2010, in Fletcher Prince News, Photography and Flickr and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments?

