Kill your website and get a blog

I probably shouldn’t be saying this, as I make money from clients who want me to create websites for them, but…

It’s time to kill your website.  We just did, and it was so easy! I wish I had done it months ago.

My advice: make your blog your website, and focus more energy on your Facebook Page.  And keep that blog updated about once a week!

(I still can’t believe I am saying this about websites.)

Okay, websites are very cool. The design options are better.  There is more functionality on websites than is offered on blogs.  So, for some businesses, websites are still right (I will continue to offer video-ready, affordable websites as part of my marketing services).  I’ll let you all chime in and tell me which kinds of businesses and organizations, in your opinion, still need a website, and why.  Just post your thoughts in the comments.

But for many of us, blogs are a better solution as our home on the web.  Look closely at a lot of websites out there, and you’ll realize they are actually blogs.  Because search engines just like blogs better.

And evidently, people do as well, because I had similar content on both but I was getting many more hits on my blog than on my website.  And it’s a huge time-saver, because now I only have to update the blog, not the blog AND the website.  Which frees me up to work on my Facebook Page 🙂

You can still have a home page, and pages, and tab navigation with a blog (as we do).  And you can easily redirect your domain to your blog and have an email address (or a hundred) though a reliable web hosting service. But you now have RSS. And you can easily create 100s of pages (do search engines ever like that) to associate with your URL.

If you continue to have a website and it’s the right decision for your company, at least consider adding a blog.  I think you’ll be very happy you did, once you see the increase in traffic!

About Mary Fletcher Jones

Mary Fletcher Jones is a public relations and marketing consultant, and owns Fletcher Prince (www.FletcherPrince.com). Follow Mary on Twitter @FletcherPrince.

Posted on September 11, 2010, in Blogging Tips, Web Site Design and SEO Tips and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments?

