Spring cleaning time! Here’s a new way to scrub your Twitter account

Ah, Spring!  A chance to declutter.  And if you’re anything like me, if there was any place in your life that would benefit from a good scrubbing, it’s your social media accounts, such as Twitter.

I follow 700+ people on my personal Twitter account.  As their follower, I appreciate when they post timely, relevant and useful updates.  Or at least entertaining content.  And I’m looking for originality, too.  A retweet here and there is a good thing, but too much of it, and I feel like I’m following a curator, not a person with their own expertise and ideas, or a brand that knows how to tell its own story.

Enter Twit Cleaner.  This very cool, free application analyzes your Twitter followers and recommends which ones you should consider ditching, and why. (And of course, I learned about it on Twitter! Thanks @Brandergy for directing me to this cool resource.)

Running a Twit Cleaner report on my followers was a fascinating exercise for me, because  it can be useful to see what NOT to do on Twitter.  This is a low-investment way to learn from other people’s mistakes.

Twit Cleaner helped me purge my follow list of people who offer me little value on Twitter.  These flags are a mini-lesson in what not to do on Twitter, if you care about engagement:

  • Post nothing but links
  • Post the same tweet too many times
  • Don’t post in a month or more
  • Post fewer than 10 tweets
  • Never interact with any followers
  • Follow back less than 10% of followers (I make allowances for media)
  • Post little original content (And guess what? they include paper.li dailies in this category of non-original content.  Another reason why those paper.li dailies aren’t doing you a damn bit of good!)
  • High percentage of updates are retweets — 70% or more
  • High percentage of updates are quotes — 50% or more

If you’re guilty of these Twitter faux pas, it’s time to take another look at how you communicate and engage on Twitter, whether it’s for yourself or for a brand.

If you’re doing a good job, congratulations!  And try spring cleaning your Twitter account with Twit Cleaner.

About Mary Fletcher Jones

Mary Fletcher Jones is a public relations and marketing consultant, and owns Fletcher Prince (www.FletcherPrince.com). Follow Mary on Twitter @FletcherPrince.

Posted on March 22, 2011, in Social Media Tips, Twitter Tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for the tip, Mary! I just ran my diagonstic and checked to see how my account is rated. Appreciate you sharing this very useful info.

Comments?

