Sugar or vinegar?

Today, I got a call from someone who didn’t like what I wrote in my blog.  A long call.

She asked me to delete it, or, she said, she would sue me. Or at least sic her lawyer on me.

I was unperturbed by this threat.  Ranting people instill me with calm; it’s an odd thing. Plus, I figure if someone is going to actually sue me about a blog post, they’re not going to start monologue-ing about it.

I listened to her for what must have been an hour.  More out of fascination than anything else.

When I offered her the opportunity to tell her side of the story, as a blog comment, she seemed insulted.  She didn’t want to post on my blog.

“No one reads your blog, anyway,” she sniffed.

Okay.  Well, then there isn’t a problem, is there?  What is this, high school?

She wasn’t done until she had insulted me in several more creative ways.  I had to admire her spirit.  I let her have her say, then I told her about my point of view. Which I had already stated in my blog, so I was kind of beating a dead horse.

An hour later, I get an email.  It was almost an apology.  Close enough.  And, as a result of what I had posted, she was going to take a different approach.  Smart choice. That was kind of what I was going for, know what I mean?

So, what the hell.  What’s one little ol’ blog post?  I deleted it, like she wanted me to.  Not because I don’t stand by what I said, and definitely not because she said she was going to sue me (my sister’s a lawyer, I fear no one!)

Just because I’m getting ready to have a fabulous weekend, and I have so many blessings, and people have been understanding with me, too, when I needed them to be.  Now, she can relax and enjoy her weekend, too.

Like my mom always said, you catch more flies with sugar than vinegar.

Maybe she’ll try that approach next time.

About Mary Fletcher Jones

Mary Fletcher Jones is a public relations and marketing consultant, and owns Fletcher Prince (www.FletcherPrince.com). Follow Mary on Twitter @FletcherPrince.

Posted on May 6, 2011, in Blogging Tips. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments?

