Fletcher Prince. Made on a Mac. Thank you, Steve Jobs

Steve Jobs

If my company had a flag, today it would be at half-mast.  I would like to dedicate my blog to Steve Jobs, the visionary behind Pixar and Apple’s Mac, iPod, iPad, iTunes, and so many other technological innovations.

My company, Fletcher Prince, was made on a Mac.

Before I ever dreamed of creating my own company, I started recording and uploading a modest enhanced audio podcast, using Garage Band, and placing them on iTunes.   It was Apple technology that allowed me to share what I had learned about raising a child with autism with other parents, and I quickly achieved a global audience.

The realization that I had something of value to share and the means with which to do it expanded my world in ways I had not thought possible.  I really began to think of myself differently.  Then, I was given a used Mac by a friend who was upgrading, and I started exploring its applications and possibilities.  In comparison to the PCs I had used, the Mac was elegant, fast, and reliable and a huge productivity builder for someone who loves to write.

I am someone who loves music.  I remember getting my first iPod and my first Shuffle.  All of a sudden, my life had a soundtrack.  When I got my first new car, a major selling point was that it had a port for me to plug in my iPod.

With iPhoto and a new digital camera, I began piecing parts of my life together in a way that was visual and creative.  I began to see possibilities I couldn’t before.  I began to think of myself in a way I had not in a decade, maybe — as a mom, yes, but more than a mom.  As someone who could be creative. Who, maybe, could make a small difference.

iMovie, it turned out, was easy for me to learn.  I decided to make my audio podcast a video podcast.  Then I started making more videos.  More videos turned into 250 videos, all made on a Mac.  I had no video making experience.  I just loved stories, and I began to realize that public relations and marketing was really about listening to stories, and telling stories, and sharing them — in a variety of ways.

Pretty soon, people were paying me to help them tell their stories, and it all happened on a Mac, which I use every single day.

My life and work have been profoundly impacted by these innovations, but I didn’t really appreciate it until I sat down and started thinking about it.  Thank you, Steve Jobs.

I’m grateful today for the work of Steve Jobs, for the risks he took, and for the contributions he made.  As his family and friends mourn his passing, I know they will remember him for the very great impact he has made on us.

About Mary Fletcher Jones

Mary Fletcher Jones is a public relations and marketing consultant, and owns Fletcher Prince (www.FletcherPrince.com). Follow Mary on Twitter @FletcherPrince.

Posted on October 6, 2011, in Fletcher Prince News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments?

