A spoonful of measurement helps the marketing show results

It may sound a little “Mary Poppins,” but when I think about my approach to measuring marketing and social media results, I think of it as a “spoonful of measurement.”

Like many sensible options, it’s just enough for what I need to track, not more.  I wanted to share my approach because I think it’s a practical one for sole practitioners, small businesses, and nonprofit organizations on a budget. And of course, as always, I’d like to hear what you’re doing (in the comments).

Mary Poppins Marketing

There are many sophisticated approaches to measuring your marketing efforts and social media results. The problem with some of those approaches is that they are typically difficult and expensive to execute.

Then it is no longer fun.  Remember what Mary Poppins said: “In every job there is to be done, there is an element of fun.”  That’s my work philosophy, if ever I had one 🙂

Some marketing and public relations professionals are so daunted by the prospect of measuring their results that they do not attempt it, or they do not measure on a regular basis.  This post is for those professionals who are new to measurement and want to get their feet wet before investing in an expensive consultant or program to do it for them.

Make it Easy On Yourself

My view is that an imperfect solution is better than nothing at all.  With my approach, you will be able to easily collect monthly data about your activities — which you can then report — that examines what you executed, and what basic results you accomplished. Piece of cake!

And you know what?  That’s fun!

Tracking my marketing and social media results in this way has been a useful exercise for me this year, so I thought I would share my template for May.  Click to download the Microsoft Word document, and customize it for your own use.

May 2012 Editorial Calendar – Fletcher Prince

If you share this on your blog or social network, please link back!  Thanks!

About Mary Fletcher Jones

Mary Fletcher Jones is a public relations and marketing consultant, and owns Fletcher Prince (www.FletcherPrince.com). Follow Mary on Twitter @FletcherPrince.

Posted on May 1, 2012, in Marketing Tips, Social Media Tips and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments?

