Help us make plans for 2013! Your feedback wanted

Hello friends and followers of Fletcher Prince!

Well, it’s a snow day in the Washington, DC area.  Or, technically, a snow-sleet-freezing rain day.  If you’re like me, you’re staying OFF the roads and inside your toasty warm home!

I’m sure you have lots of fun holiday presents to play with, but if you find you have a moment between today and New Year’s, can you help me out?  That would be great. Put on your thinking cap!

You see, this is an intense period of planning for me.  My son is with his dad until Friday and I have a lot of time to think about the upcoming year.  I really want this blog and all the Fletcher Prince-y things we do in 2013 to be interesting, useful, and fun for you.

So, can you give me some feedback?  You can leave a comment below, or email me: Mary@FletcherPrince.com.  You can Tweet @FletcherPrince or feel free to call me to chat anytime this week, day or evening (571) 269-7559.

Here’s specifically what I need advice on, but feel free to chime in with whatever interests you!

Looking for Social Media Week DC presentation topics

social media week dc 2013Our Social Media Week DC proposal is due next week.  It’s going to be hard to top our free, standing-room-only event last year, when we presented three social media prsentations and featured guest speakers from the U.S. Army and the World Bank, among others. So what should we do in February this year?

I’ve been batting around a few ideas, but I’m not 100% sold on any of them.  One of is to address the problem of centralizing communications — particularly social media communications — in larger companies, government agencies, and organizations.  You know, how to manage social media and branding when your organization has 30-40 Facebook Pages and YouTube Channels, across several departments.

I’m also personally interested in how to balance risk identification and mitigation and an open approach to social media, particularly in these larger firms and agencies.  It does seem like the larger the organization, the more tricky the execution is.  I don’t think anyone has landed on the perfect solution, but in this blog, I’ve tried to explore some of the pitfalls and best practices.

I’ve also thought about getting away from the presentation format, and doing a blog or video clinic or workshop.

Of course, these events are more fun when there are more participants.  So if you would like to participate in a Fletcher Prince Social Media Week event in mid-February, or you have ideas for a great social media presentation, workshop or event,  let me know!

ISO guests and topic ideas for Conversations in Public Relations

Conversations in Public Relations logoI would love to hear your ideas for interesting topics and guests in the Washington, DC area for our YouTube video interview series, Conversations in Public Relations.

Suggest a topic or expert on any aspect of public relations, marketing, advertising, social media, design, communications — you name it.  I need ideas for 6-12 videos for 2013.

If you’re interested in participating as a guest on the show, now is a great time to contact me so we can set it up.  It’s free to participate, and it only takes about an hour/hour and a half of your time.

Needed: restaurant suggestions for monthly Network-and-Lunch events

April Network and Lunch, DavidAs you may know, in 2012 we organized monthly Network-and-Lunch events all over the DC area.  Last year, we met at Clyde’s, RT’s, Silver Diner, Jaleo, Teaism, as well as other places.  It’s free to register and you only pay for your own lunch and chip in for the tip.

I’ve planned some of the lunches, but I need help with the rest.  Is there a restaurant near where you work that you would like to suggest?  And will you join us?  I have posted the list of Network-and-Lunch dates on our Eventbrite profile page.

Anybody need a speaker for 2013? I’m available!

I’ve been presenting on social media, email marketing, video, and blogging since I started Fletcher Prince in 2007, from large conferences such as Digital East and the Government Video Expo, to smaller group presentations for WWPR, RHED Pixel, and George Mason University, among others.  Please invite me to speak at your company, class, or for your conference or group this year.

Wanted: leads and projects!

You know, if I’m going to do all these fun and free things, I’d better get some work in for 2013!  I’d be very grateful to you for any leads on PR/advertising/social media/graphic design/video projects in 2013.  David and I subcontract, and work on a fixed fee basis for most of our work.  We also provide hourly consulting and training.   Let’s work together in 2013!

 

About Mary Fletcher Jones

Mary Fletcher Jones is a public relations and marketing consultant, and owns Fletcher Prince (www.FletcherPrince.com). Follow Mary on Twitter @FletcherPrince.

Posted on December 26, 2012, in Conversations in Public Relations, Fletcher Prince News, Network-and-Lunch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments?

